A surprising win today against Peter Sibbald. After learning to play against the London System in an effort to beat Dave Gordon, I decided to give the London System a punt as White. And strangely, I was able to get a small advantage after Black took the poisoned b2 pawn with the Queen. Still, it wasn’t a decisive win, and there were many possible lines after Black had to sacrifice a knight for 2 pawns (to avoid losing the queen completely). I will annotate the game later, and add it to my collection of games against Peter Sibbald.

There’s still one more round to go, and most likely, I will be playing my arch rival, Sid Anjilvel. He’s lower rated than me, but his style of play that avoids theory makes him a problematic player for me to deal with.  I will probably put together my collection of games against Sid Anjilvel as well in the coming days, to prepare for my final round next week.

A simple draw will secure a tournament victory, but I’m sure Sid will be playing for the win.

