So just last Monday, we received our approval for our Canadian permanent residency. What a way to start the New Year. That’s one of my goals I get to scratch off. We submitted our PR application just last May. We did our medical exams in September. And we sent our passports over just last December. We were really hopeful to get our PRs just after the New Year. And here we are!

Well, it’s not completely done yet. We received our approval in the mail with our updated passports, but we still have to go to a Canadian Port of Entry to get our PR finalized. And to do that, we’re heading to the 1000 Island bridge tomorrow morning. I’ve driven across this bridge a couple of time before, to attendance conferences in the US for QuickSchools.com. This time around though, we’ll be going not for work.

I’m more excited by the fact that the family is going on a road trip together. I love road trips, or any kind of family trip, really. We spent 3 years in Vancouver, and we rarely, if ever, ventured out to the Vancouver city limits. I often wonder why. And now that we have a car, there’s really no reason we shouldn’t make more of these trips. I’d love to visit Toronto, Ottawa and Montreal. So hopefully tomorrow’s trip to the 1000 Islands will be the first of many. You can read about it on my family blog after I write about it tomorrow night.

Anyway, if you don’t hear from us in a while, maybe we’re stuck at the border. Hopefully, every goes well. Let’s have some fun tomorrow.